Losing A Best Friend

Yesterday (11/21/2023) I lost my best friend Meeka.

She was only 14, and most small dogs live longer than that… I think?

We’ve been talking about putting her down for a couple months because she’s been on a rapid decline with her health.

Last weekend she got so sick, I don’t know what from but she couldn’t control her bowels, she couldn’t use her back legs, she was throwing up her water, and it hurt my heart to watch.

She’s been doing this thing for a while called ‘Cognitive Decline’ where she would pace for hours and hours and HOURS! And when we would visit my husband’s parents house, she would sometimes fall into the window wells because she couldn’t see where she was going. She was always running into walls, or cabinets, or anything that was on the ground.

She’s been in so much pain for too long and I love her too much to let her be in pain any longer. I miss her so much. I could cry nonstop honestly, but I’m trying so hard to hold it in.

My sons teacher told me this yesterday before we took my dog to the vet; she said, “you know an animal is truly loved when you’re willing to put aside your selfishness to end their suffering.”

When Meeka (my dog) got sedated, I made sure she was in my arms so I was the last one she’d ever remember holding her. My husband wanted to be in the room when she was put down completely, so I took our boys to the car so they didn’t have to see.

I could tell the exact moment Meeka was put down because I felt almost like a sheet of calmness come over me. I know this is what she needed, and I’m so glad she never has to hurt ever again.

I love you Meeka. You’re my best friend and my daughter (dogter as Tony says).

One thought on “Losing A Best Friend

Leave a comment